Vault's Careers Blog

Career advice and job search strategies for the modern careerist

How the Job Search is Like Dating

with 2 comments


Wouldn’t it be pretty cool if a career fair was more like a singles bar; where you could cozy on up to a prospective employer late at night and make your move? You know how the saying goes – “Drink ‘Til He/She’s Hirable.” Talk about an uncomfortable morning that would be when you showed up to work and your employer realized a mistake was made.

All kidding aside, Susan Adams over at Forbes.com recently posted an article Why Job-Seeking Is Just Like Dating and it made me think about my own job search and the parallels it had to finding the right girlfriend.

Slip out the back, Jack

Back when I was a reporter, I had completed my seventh year at the paper (what we would call the Seven-Year Itch in relationship terms), and I began finding other jobs to be more attractive. The way they looked in those slinky outfits, almost calling out to me, while my current job was just there, no longer willing to give back; always claiming they had a headache when I asked for a raise.

And so, I began looking elsewhere.

Head on over to Vault.com for the rest of this article on How the Job Search is Like Dating. (Hint: There are some Paul Simon lyrics involved.)

–Posted by Jon Minners, Communications Manager, Vault.com

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Creating parallels between everyday life and the job hunt is genius. Hopefully my next scenario will be a 7-year-itch and not being dumped!

    Kristy

    March 1, 2010 at 3:24 pm

  2. Thank you for the comment. I appreciate that. Good luck with your future and keep checking http://www.vault.com and this blog page for the tools you need, not just to land a career, but to flourish in it.

    jonminners

    March 2, 2010 at 3:05 pm


Leave a Reply

